We're Going on a Bear Hunt

Lyric Theatre
Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Opens: 4 July 2018
Closes: 2 September 2018

Buy tickets: 0844 847 1722 or

1: Buy tickets online
choose your own seats
2: Buy tickets online
different seat availability

Nearest Tube: Piccadilly Circus

Location street map

Theatre seating plan

Show times
Wed 4 July at 11.00am
Thu 5 July at 11.00am
Fri 6 July at 11.00am
Sat 7 July at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 8 July at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 9 July no shows
Tue 10 July no shows
Wed 11 July at 11.00am
Thu 12 July at 11.00am
Fri 13 July at 11.00am
Sat 14 July at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 15 July at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 16 July no shows
Tue 17 July at 11.00am
Wed 18 July at 11.00am
Thu 19 July at 11.00am
Sat 21 July at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 22 July at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 23 July no shows
Tue 24 July at 11.00am
Wed 25 July at 11.00am
Thu 26 July at 11.00am
Fri 27 July at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Sat 28 July at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 29 July at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 30 July no shows
Tue 31 July at 11.00am
Wed 1 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Thu 2 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Fri 3 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Sat 4 Aug at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 5 Aug at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 6 Aug no shows
Tue 7 Aug at 11.00am
Wed 8 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Thu 9 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Fri 10 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Sat 11 Aug at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 12 Aug at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 13 Aug no shows
Tue 14 Aug at 11.00am
Wed 15 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Thu 16 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Fri 17 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Sat 18 Aug at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 19 Aug at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 20 Aug no shows
Tue 21 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Wed 22 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Thu 23 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Fri 24 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Sat 25 Aug at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 26 Aug at 10.00am and Midday

Mon 27 Aug no shows
Tue 28 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Wed 29 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Thu 30 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Fri 31 Aug at 11.00am and 2.00pm
Sat 1 Sept at 10.00am and Midday
Sun 2 Sept at 10.00am and Midday

Runs 55 minutes with no interval

Seat prices
? to ?
Premium Seating also available
(plus booking fees if applicable)

We're Going on a Bear Hunt

Tall Stories

Children's Laureate Michael Rosen's ever popular We're Going On A Bear Hunt in London for a summer season

We're going to the theatre! We're going on a Bear Hunt! What a beautiful play! We're not scared... Follow a family's excitement as they wade, splash and squelch through a variety of imaginative environments in search of a bear. Director Sally Cookson describes the production as being a "celebration of play", thus, along with designer Katie Sykes, they decided that the stage set design should utilise a host of everyday objects and materials in order to draw young audiences into this thrilling, imaginary world. The story is brought vividly and noisily to life on stage featuring a quirky, versatile and lively score by Benji Bower.

This production is suitable for children aged three and over.

Adapted and directed for the stage by Sally Cookson from the book by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury, with designs by Katie Sykes, puppets by Marc Parrett, lighting by Tony Simpson, music by Benji Bower and sound by Jason Barnes.

Please note: Relaxed performances on Friday 13 July at 11.00am and Wednesday 8 August at 2.00pm. BSL British Sign Language performance on Wednesday 18 July at 11.00am.

This production comes into London's West End following two previous summer seasons in 2009 and 2013 (Previewed 8 July 2009, opened 9 July 2009, closed 16 August 2009 at the Duchess Theatre, returned 3 July 2013, closed 1 September 2013 at the Lyric Theatre).

Author of over 140 books, Michael Rosen has enjoyed a successfully diverse career as writer, poet and broadcaster. Filled with rhythm, repetition and onomatopoeia, We're Going on a Bear Hunt has been praised for its ability to engage and entertain young children of all learning abilities. This production was previously seen at London's Duchess Theatre during the summer 2009, it is presented by Tall Stories who have also presented the stage version of Room on the Broom in London.

"I never quite twigged why a saneseeming father would take his children through river, forest, mud and a snowstorm to catch a bear, still less why they should bring with them little but a butterfly net, a magnifying glass and a dog that doubles as a guitarist. But the tots around me clearly had no difficulty buying the idea behind this adaptation of Michael Rosen's book, so nor should I. Nor should you if you decide to take yourself and your brood to this likeable if unremarkable holiday diversion." The Times (2009)

"In truth, Sally Cookson's sunny and enjoyable production for the very young is not quite as deliciously scary and tension-filled as the original book, which works through a mixture of repetition and thrills. But then anything other than a cute but strangely anorexic giant teddy bear at the end, might well cause a riot as under-fives head en masse for the exit... What we get is a fun-filled frolic that makes terrific use of 'poor' theatre techniques and allows the young audience to use their imaginations... This is a familiar title transposed from page to stage, but done with skill and a bubbling sense of fun." The Guardian (2009)

We're Going on a Bear Hunt in London at the Lyric Theatre opens on 4 July 2018 to 2 September 2018.